Invitation – My First Blog Post

(Modified and re-posted from a 2012 Monday Minute email message to my faculty & staff.)

I am a dreamer.  Even at 44 years of age, I’m still convinced that my childhood dreams will one day be realized.  I will climb Mount Everest.  I will write a Grammy-winning song.  I will score the winning goal in a Stanley Cup championship.  And, yes, I will win a gold medal in the Olympics.  Hey – there is always the winter sport of curling – it could happen.

My dad is a dreamer, too, so I come by it honestly.  When he and my mother dropped me at my college dorm many dreams ago, he handed me a letter as he was leaving.  He wrote, “Son, follow your dreams.  You will find a few of them.  And, for the many that you don’t find, you will learn perseverance and tenacity, and you will be a stronger man for it.  It would be far worse that you look back in 30 years, and wonder, “What might have been?”  I can tell you, I don’t wonder.

I am a total sucker for a sappy lyric about dreaming “the impossible dream”.  I still love the Muppet Movie song, “The Rainbow Connection” for the lyric, “Someday we’ll find it, the rainbow connection – the lovers, the dreamers, and me.”  As I told my faculty on opening day a while back, the first time I heard the Owl City lyric, “Chase your dreams…Take to the sky”, I decided that I would eventually use that song as a school kick-off slogan.  And, when I was watching the Olympics closing ceremonies in 2012, and John Lennon made a magical appearance on the big screen singing “… you say that I’m a dreamer.  Well, I’m not the only one”, I decided that school year would be the one.

If I could, I would chisel the popular Shel Silverstein poem, “Invitation” into the sidewalk leading to doors of my school building. I cannot think of better words for welcoming young children into a building where the pursuit of their dreams will be honored, celebrated, supported, and validated as real possibilities, results of hard work and excellence in trying and learning.  For us educators, I would argue that Silverstein is throwing down at our feet a bit of a challenge. I enthusiastically offer those words to you:

 “If you are a dreamer, come in! If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar, a hope-er, a pray-er, a magic bean buyer… If you’re a pretender, come sit by my fire, For we have some flax golden tales to spin. Come in! Come in!”

Are you up to the challenge?  Let’s go!

3 thoughts on “Invitation – My First Blog Post

  1. Dear Jim,
    The Seurat entry had long paragraphs. I get the content but it reads long. Try breaking into smaller ones if possible. Your voice is more upbeat and truer in the first one. The second one is somewhat dryer and more distant in tone. I liked the topic.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

