Lost In a Daydream

“The whole art of teaching is only the art of awakening the natural curiosity of young minds for the purpose of satisfying it afterwards.”  – Anatole France
My family and I followed my wife to Europe a few summers ago while she was teaching opera students in Spoleto, Italy. Her teaching schedule allowed one weekend of free time, so we made the most of it using the rail system to see as much of Europe that we could pack into 3 days. It turned into quite the adventure. After spending an evening in a sleeper car on a train from Paris that broke down in the Alps, we found ourselves somewhere between Milan and Rome on a bullet train that was sitting painfully motionless on the track in the middle of grape vineyards. Our trip was halted  because the train terminal in Rome several miles ahead was reportedly on fire. Seriously. The Griswolds’ “European Vacation” had nothing on us.
My daughter, Katelyn, 8-years old at the time, was bored out of her mind sitting on that motionless train. I glanced at her in the seat next to me.  Her eyes told me that she was lost in a daydream as she slowly and smoothly turned a bottle half filled with water over and over.  I watched her for about 10 minutes.  Then, without stopping, she said quietly, “I wonder why the water in this bottle doesn’t just clump up; I wonder why it follows the shape of the bottle.”  I started to say something to her about molecules and blah, blah, blah, but she quickly stopped me: “No Daddy! I don’t actually want to know the answer.  I just want to wonder about it.”  And, she went back to twirling her bottle.
Wow. Out of the mouths of babes!  I learned a lot from my daughter in those 10 minutes.  I saw the seeds of inquiry-based learning up close and personal.  I saw what intrinsic curiosity and a drive to learn looks like disguised as an 8 year-old’s daydream.  I imagined how this same scene might play out in a classroom. How might a teacher huddle up next to a daydreamer, tap into her curiosity and activate inspired learning? 
I stumbled upon such a teacher – a character in a Newbery Award winning book from 1954: The Wheel On the School by Meindert DeJong, illustrated by Maurice Sendak.  I had never heard of this book, but Sendak’s name caught my eye in a pile of books a teacher put on an “up for grabs table” at the end of a school year, so I claimed it for my own.  In the story, a teacher challenges his students to wonder: 
“We can’t think much when we don’t know much.  But, we can wonder! From now until tomorrow morning when you come to school, will you do that?  Will you wonder why and wonder why? Will you wonder why storks don’t come to Shora to build their nests on the roofs, the way they do in all the little villages around?  For sometimes when we wonder, we can make things begin to happen.”
 
As the story unfolds, these children DO wonder and they DO make extraordinary things happen.  Is this true of our own students: our quiet thinkers who sit on the corner of the playground and our classroom daydreamers who frustrate us to no end because they appear to not be engaged in learning?  Maybe our daydreamers are wondering about things that are more educationally rich than the so-called knowledge we expound. Maybe they are poised to “make things happen”. How can we incorporate into our school day the freedom to daydream about the “whys?” the “what ifs?”  and then provide opportunity for daydreamers to examine ideas that spring from their wonderment?  
 
“But, the school day is short” we all say. Yes, it is. So, why would we waste any bit of it?  We should use that valuable time looking for opportunities to jump into a child’s daydream and awaken their natural curiosity. It comes down to choices about what we value about learning. Can we carve out some instructional time for the daydream, find ways to gently shake it up, and then through artful teaching satisfy student curiosity and guide students to make things happen?  I wonder…

7 thoughts on “Lost In a Daydream

  1. What a thought provoking post, Jim. I wonder the same things about our teachers and their professional development opportunities. So often it seems that we prescribe the learning of all around us and don’t take the time to let them explore those things for which they have an interest. But I also understand there are some things- reading, writing, and math, for example- that need to be taught for the other learning to occur. Maybe we just need to find the balance.
    Jay

    Like

  2. Well done Jim! If everyone embedded time focused on “Wonder/Inquiry” it would eliminate the inch deep mile long philosophy. It would also enrich 21st learning skills for our students.
    How could we help parents/guardians to broaden this concept outside of the school day?
    Great post…..thanks for sharing Jim!

    Like

  3. “But, the school day is short” we all say. Yes, it is. So, why would we waste any bit of it?”

    Because we can’t afford not to. 😉

    Wasting on wondering may be the single most valuable investment we can make.

    Brilliant post, Jim. As a dad, your relating the interaction you had with your daughter really resonated with me. Oh, how our kids will teach us how to teach them…

    If we will only look for it, there is so much we can learn from it.

    Like

  4. Great post Jim. Keeping pace with the pacing chart/curriculum map shouldn’t squash student or teacher inquiry or wondering. Isn’t that what the push for the genius hour is all about?

    Like

  5. Jim,

    I used to read that story to my 5th graders! Boy you’ve just awakened the hands-of-time, and walked me down memory lane.

    You’re spot on, thinkers become doers! Getting a person to intrinsically wonder and think what if? That is powerful.

    Love the story, just wish you would have shared more about the trip.

    Till Next Time,

    -Ben

    Like

Leave a comment